We Are In The Business Of Healing
Were You Hit By A Distracted Driver?
Drivers face distractions each time they get behind the wheel. Passengers, items and thoughts fight for a driver’s attention. The driver must actively choose to focus on the road. Unfortunately, many Ohio drivers fail to avoid distraction, resulting in serious and sometimes deadly accidents.
At Williams DeClark Tuschman Co. L.P.A., our team has over 100 years of personal injury experience. We have represented countless car, truck and motorcycle accident victims. Our car accident attorneys understand how to prove fault and how to help you recover the full compensation you deserve.
If you believe the driver who hit you was distracted at the time of the accident, contact us to discuss your options during a free consultation.
Common Driving Behavior Or Dangerous Distraction?
Unfortunately, many actions that drivers regularly perform increase the chances of a car crash. All the actions listed below take a driver’s mind off the road or their hands off the wheel. Even a few seconds of distraction is enough to result in a life-changing motor vehicle accident. Some common distractions include:
- Talking on the phone
- Browsing the internet
- Eating or drinking
- Assisting children in the backseat
- Changing the radio dial
- Using the car GPS system
- Putting on makeup
Drivers should attend to these actions while their car is safely parked. While the car is in motion, drivers have a responsibility to maintain focus on the road, scanning for surrounding cars, pedestrians, bikers and other potential hazards.
What Are Ohio’s Cellphone Regulations?
Many states have passed laws designed to limit driver distraction. In Ohio, drivers cannot text on any handheld device while driving. This ban extends to reading incoming texts. However, there are some exceptions that may allow drivers to type on their phone: Texting in an emergency, making or receiving a call, finding navigation information, or switching the phone to hands-free mode.
Most Ohio motorists are permitted to talk on the phone while driving. However, drivers under the age of 18 who are driving with a temporary instruction permit or probationary license cannot use any electronic devices while behind the wheel. Violators may be subject to a $150 fine and a 60-day license suspension. A second violation can result in a year-long license suspension and a $300 fine.
Contact Us If You Were Hit By A Distracted Driver
If you were injured by a distracted driver, our experienced personal injury attorneys can help you fight for the compensation you need to cover property damage, medical expenses and more. Call our Toledo office at 419-719-5195 or complete our easy inquiry form to schedule a free initial consultation.